goodbye second graders

Farewelled a class of second graders today as they will be on a swimming field trip during our last scheduled time together.  Took me by surprise as I didn’t realize until about midday  that our last class was TODAY! Where has the year gone? They took their portfolios and sketchbooks and I was delighted to hear that some of them still had their art work from first grade at home–hopefully on display! :) They’ll be moving down the hall for third grade in the fall and also on to a new art teacher. Even though there’s still twelve days of school left and their classroom is opposite mine, they insisted on saying “See you next year!” I’ve so enjoyed teaching them since kindergarten–my very first group of art students… and watching them grow as artists. It’s been an amazing three years and I’m so going to miss them.  Good thing I still have a few other second grade art classes to go before year end.

Leave a Reply

