where are you from?

second grader: It’s hard to tell where you’re from.

me: What do you mean?

second grader: Your language is American, but you don’t look it.

me: Do you mean I speak English well?

second grader: Yeah.

me: Well I could say the same thing about you. (he looked perplexed) Where do you think I’m from?

second grader: America.

me: Close, the country right above it.

second grader: Oh, Canada.

I was then in  China that weekend with a few friends and the gentleman at the reception desk where we stayed asked if I was indeed Chinese.  I assured him I was but he was not convinced and said,  “Nothing about you looks Chinese except your hair.”

Now I’m perplexed.

Leave a Reply

